The Rockhampton Regional Local Government Area was established through the amalgamation of the City of Rockhampton, Shire of Fitzroy and Shire of Mount Morgan in 2008. The Shire of Livingstone was also amalgamated into the Rockhampton Local Government Area, however residents opted for de-amalgamation in 2013.

The Rockhampton Region is home to a number of major settlements and townships, with the city of Rockhampton the largest and most prominent. It’s the principal service centre in Central Queensland, possessing the highest concentration and most diverse range of retail, health, education and Government services.

Gracemere is a residential and industrial satellite community to the south east of Rockhampton City. Located on the Capricorn Highway, Gracemere has been the focus of considerable new residential development in recent years, with supporting retail and commercial floor space. The location also offers strong road infrastructure access and is home to a growing transport and logistics cluster.

Mount Morgan is another notable settlement in the Rockhampton Region. The historic township, founded in 1882 with the discovery of gold, is currently home to about 2,500 residents. Mount Morgan’s economy has undergone a transition and now leverages its extensive heritage and historical assets to offer a unique tourism experience to visitors to Central Queensland.